Have you ever noticed the setting called “Send Read Receipts” while using any of your messaging apps? If so, then you must be wondering about what Send Read Receipts mean.
Send Read Receipts is the permission to let other users know that you have seen or opened their message.
It can depend on your app and service what exactly qualifies as a read receipt.
What is a Read Receipt
A read receipt is basically a notification or status that lets the sender know that the receiver of the message has opened or read their message. Some apps will notify you if the message is
Sent
Delivered
or
Read.
So if the sender has the setting for read receipts enabled, they will be able to know that you have read their message.
Now On to the Main Question: “What Does Send Read Receipts Mean?”
As mentioned above, “Send Read Receipts” in your settings lets other users know that you have seen or opened their message. So, if you disable it, that would mean that other users will not be notified that you have seen their message. It can differ between apps, but it mostly works like this.
Do Read Receipts Mean Someone Knows You Are Online?
No, they don’t
Read receipts and online indicators are two totally different things. A read receipt notifies the sender that the receiver has opened or read their message, while an online indicator just notifies them that you are online or active on the app. So, even though they are similar, they are still different, and you can have the permission for one and not the other.
Why Do People Turn Off Read Receipts?
There are a few reasons that someone would want to turn off their read receipts. Reasons can include
privacy,
pressure
or
preference.
Some people don’t want someone to know when they read a message, so they disable it for privacy. It can also be pressure because some people like to reply to a message right away, and turning off read receipts takes away some of that pressure. And last but not least, it can just be a matter of preference.
What Does Turning Off Read Receipts Do?
This can vary between apps, but turning it off most likely will mean that other people can’t see that you had read their message. There are exemptions, though. Some apps have different settings for different types of conversations. So, it’s always good to double check your apps privacy settings.
Does Turning Off Read Receipts Hide Delivered As Well?
No, it doesn’t
Delivered and read are two entirely different things. Delivered most likely means that the message has arrived at the receivers end, while read means that they have opened and viewed the message in the app. The app may still show delivered even though you turned off read receipts.
Are Read Receipts The Same Thing As Seen?
They are very similar, but they don’t mean the exact same thing. Read receipts are usually used in messaging services, while seen is usually used in social media apps, but they are very similar. Some apps may even be labeled as seen instead of read, but they still mean the same thing.
“Send Read Receipts” Definition
“Send Read Receipts” is a permission that lets a messaging app tell other users that you have seen or opened their message. So, if it’s enabled, your contacts will be notified that you have read their message, but if it’s disabled, it will most likely stop them from knowing that you have read their message, depending on the app.